Gallantry Awards 2024

Gallantry Awards 2024

Source: PIB

Why in discussion?

recently, President of IndiaPresented Gallantry Awards But Defence Investiture Ceremony-2024 held at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

What are gallantry awards?

  • About this:

    • Gallantry Awards was established to honour Acts of bravery and sacrifice of officers/men Armed Forces, Other Duly constituted military and civilians.
    • These are gallantry awards Announced twice a year, On this occasion, for the first time Republic Day and then on this occasion Independence Day.

  • Order of Precedence of Awards:

    • Param Vir Chakra
    • Ashok Chakra
    • Mahavir Chakra
    • Kirti Chakra
    • Veer Chakra
    • gallantry chakra

What are the eligibility and selection criteria for receiving gallantry awards?

  • Param Vir Chakra, Mahavir Chakra and Vir Chakra:

    • Personnel of all ranks The Navy, Army and Air Force, the Reserve Army, the Territorial Army, the Militia and any other lawfully constituted armed forces.
    • Matrons, Sisters, Nurses and other employees of the Nursing Services and of hospitals and other services connected with nursing, and civilians serving under the instructions of any of the above Forces.
    • Eligibility Conditions: These awards are given for action against the enemy, whether on land, at sea or in the air.

      • Param Vir Chakra: For Most notable bravery or any bold or outstanding act of heroism or self-sacrifice.
      • Maha Vir Chakra: For Notable acts of heroism
      • Veer Chakra: For Acts of heroism

  • Ashoka Chakra, Kirti Chakra and Shaurya Chakra:

    • Officers and men and women of all ranks of the Army, Navy and Air Force, any Reserve Force, the Territorial Army, the Militia and any other lawfully constituted force.
    • Members of the Nursing Service of the Armed Forces.
    • Civilian citizens and members of police forces including Central Paramilitary Forces and Railway Protection Force.
    • Eligibility Conditions: These awards are given for actions performed in the face of the enemy.
    • Ashoka Chakra: For an act of most conspicuous bravery or courage or an outstanding act of heroism or self-sacrifice
    • Kirti Chakra, for conspicuous gallantry
    • gallantry chakra, For valor

  • Selection Process:

    • Invited by Ministry of Defence Recommendations twice a year From Armed Forces and Union Home Ministry For bravery award.
    • Regarding the Armed ForcesThe case for gallantry awards is initiated by the unit recommended by its commanders.
    • Recommendations in respect of civilians (other than Defence Personnel) are received from: Union Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA).
    • recommendations received directly from private individuals, including VIP references are not accepted,
    • In any case, Time limit for consideration of Gallantry awards Should not happen more than two calendar years From the date on which the act of gallantry was performed.
    • Recommendations from the armed forces and the Home Ministry are considered.Central Honours & Awards Committee (CH&AC) This will include the Defence Minister, the chiefs of the three armed forces and the Defence Secretary.

  • Awardees at Defence Investiture Ceremony 2024:

    • The President awarded 10 Kirti Chakras (7 posthumously) and 26 Shaurya Chakras (7 posthumously).
    • Inspector Dilip Kumar, Head Constable Raj Kumar Yadav, Constables Bablu Rabha and Shambhu Roy of 210 Cobra Battalion of CRPF were awarded this honour posthumously. Kirti Chakra for collective action against Maoist ambush 3 in Bijapur, ChhattisgarhThird April 2021.
    • Major Vikas Bhambhu and Major Mustafa Bohra He was awarded the Shaurya Chakra posthumously.

      • Two officers lost control of their helicopter, which caught fireHe died after the plane crashed away from human habitation in Upper Siang district of Arunachal Pradesh.

UPSC Civil Services Exam Previous Year Questions (PYQ)


Question: Consider the following statements regarding Bharat Ratna and Padma awards: (2021)

  1. The Bharat Ratna and Padma Awards are titles given under Article 18(1) of the Indian Constitution.
  2. The Padma Awards, instituted in 1954, have been suspended only once.
  3. The number of Bharat Ratna awards in a particular year is limited to a maximum of five.

Which of the above statements is not correct?

(A) 1 and 2 only

(b) 2 and 3 only

(C) 1 and 3 only

(D) 1, 2 and 3

Answer: (d)

Q. Consider the following statements regarding the Laureus World Sports Awards, established in the year 2000: (2021)

  1. American golfer Tiger Woods was the first winner of the award.
  2. Till now this award has been given mostly to ‘Formula One’ players only.
  3. Roger Federer has received this award the most number of times compared to others.

Which of the statements given above are correct?

(A) 1 and 2 only

(b) 2 and 3 only

(C) 1 and 3 only

(D) 1, 2 and 3

Answer: (c)

Back to Home – Click here


Leave a Comment