India won the 2024 T20 World Cup

India won the 2024 T20 World Cup

Source: HT

Why in discussion?

Recently, India has First ICC title since 2013 Champions Trophy By winning the ICC T20 World Cup in Barbados.

  • The win was seen as the end of a drought in major ICC tournaments.

How has the journey of T20 World Cup been in the last few years?

  • About this:

    • T20 World Cup, First played in 2007An international cricket championship, usually held once a year every two years.
    • The T20 World Cup began in 2007 as a 12-team competition, but was played between 12 teams from 2012 to 2017. Expanded to 16 teams From the 2014 edition.

      • The 2024 edition will have 20 sides Competed in four groups.

  • Visits to India in the last few years:

    • india won 1st Men’s Twenty20 World Cup The MS Dhoni-led team beat Pakistan in the final in South Africa.
    • India Runners-up in 2014Lost to Sri Lanka in the final.

  • the winner:

    • Teams that won two T20 World Cups

      • India (2007 and 2024)
      • West Indies (2012 and 2016)
      • England (2010 and 2022)

    • With the victory of 2022, England became first team Organising both men’s World Cups simultaneously – 2019 ODI World Cup and 2022 T20 World Cup.

  • Individual achievements of the 2024 Cup:

    • of India Virat Kohli Is Highest run scorer He ranks second in T20 World Cup history with 1292 runs in 35 matches since his debut in 2012.
    • Bangladeshi all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan Is Highest wicket-taker Took 50 wickets in 43 matches in the T20 World Cup between 2007 and 2024.

  • Highlights from the 2024 T20 Final:

    • Player of the Match: Virat Kohli
    • Best Player of the Tournament: Jasprit Bumrah
    • Most wickets in a T20 World Cup edition:

      • 17. Arshdeep Singh (IND, 2024)
      • 17 – Fazalhaq Farooqi (AFG, 2024)

    • Lowest economy rate in a T20 World Cup edition:

      • 4.17 – Jasprit Bumrah (2024)

    • Only 3Third Times when a team won the T20 World Cup final Protecting the target Following India in 2007 and the West Indies in 2012.
    • India became the world’s largest first team Winning the T20 World Cup Undefeated through Tournament.
    • Three Indian players after World Cup win, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja He has announced his retirement from T20 International.

      • BCCIThe governing body of cricket in India Prize money of Rs 125 crore announced This was a big blow for Team India after their T20 World Cup win.

UPSC Civil Services Exam Previous Year Questions (PYQ)


Q. Consider the following statements regarding the Laureus World Sports Awards, established in the year 2000: (2021)

  1. American golfer Tiger Woods was the first winner of the award.
  2. Till now this award has been given mostly to ‘Formula One’ players only.
  3. Roger Federer has received this award the most number of times compared to others.

Which of the statements given above are correct?

(A) 1 and 2 only

(b) 2 and 3 only

(C) 1 and 3 only

(D) 1, 2 and 3

Answer: (c)

Back to Home – Click here


Leave a Comment